Finding Aid Date
RG 11.2 JamaicaSC: StGC
St. George’s College, in Kingston, Jamaica, was founded in 1850 by the Jesuits. In 1868, it became a secondary school level for boys. St. George’s College became a grant-in-aid school in 1936, becoming part of the government’s educational system. In 1929, the newly formed New England Province of Jesuits assumed responsibility for the Jamaica Mission. The American Jesuits already had much experience in secondary and university education and they recreated the standard classical curriculum at St. George’s College staffing the school with Jesuits. In 1942, St. George’s College introduced an Extension Course focused on general adult education. The Extension School closed in 2000. In September, 2005 the College admitted girls to its sixth form program. The collection consists of records of the St. George’s College Jesuit Community, Rector’s Correspondence, Rector’s Board of Managers/Directors material, Financial Reports and Fund-raising Campaigns, Planning materials, Historical and Anniversary materials, Graduation and other programs, publications: The Blue and White magazine and some issues of The Lance, the college yearbook, records of the Home-School Association, 1972-81, and records of the Old Boys [alumni] Association. Records consist of correspondence, meeting minutes, financial reports, publications and anniversary materials. Records of the St. George’s College Extension School including a diary, reports, enrollment statistics, and course descriptions are also included in this collection. The records cover the time period of 1917 to 2000. Some facsimile photocopies from the Archives of the English Province, sources dating from the 1800s are also included.
New England Jesuit Province Archives; New England Province of the Society of Jesus; and St. George's College, Kingston, Jamaica, "RG 11.2 St. George's College and St. George's Extension School, Special Collection" (2015). Finding Aids, Record Groups. 18.